The William F. "Bill" Callahan Award recognizes sustained and meritorious service at the national level to the profession of addiction counseling.  Any NAADAC member in good standing may nominate an individual for this award, which is selected by the NAADAC Executive Committee. Current members of the NAADAC Executive Committee are ineligible for this award. There is no requirement to present this award each year, nor is there a limitation on the number of recipients who can be chosen in a single year.


For additional information, please contact HeidiAnne Werner at or 800-548-0497 x101.

Past Award Recipients

2016 Donald “Frank” Davis (Rosenberg, TX)
2015 Peter Crumb, MEd, CAC (Belchertown, MA)
2013 David “Mac” Macmaster, CSAC, TTS (Middleton, WI)
2010 Eric Martin, MAC, CADC III, CPS (Portland, OR)
2007 Carole Colleran (West Palm Beach, FL)
2006 Shirley Beckett Mikell, NCAC II (Severn, MD)
2005 Dr. Frank Lala (Vancouver, WA)
2004 Paul McDevitt (Housatonic, MA)
2002 Leroy L. Kelly (Ashland, MA)
2000 Joseph A. Giannantonio II (Bakersfield, CA)
1999 Dr. Raymond F. Hoitt (Weymoth, MA)
1996 Paul D. Potter (Milwaukie, OR)
1995 Svea "Bunny" Morgan (Nashville, TN)
1995 John T. Durgin (East Wareham, MA)
1994 Charles "Chuck" Ealy, Sr. (Lewisburg, TN)
1993 John P. Mulloy, Jr. (Nashville, TN)
1992 Elves Smith (San Antonio, TX)
1991 John Brumbaugh (Columbus, IN)
1989 Lydia Norie (Norman, OK)
1988 William F. Callahan