NAADAC’s 2018 Advocacy in Action Conference was a success!

NAADAC’s 2018 Advocacy in Action Conference was a success! Over 50 addiction professional advocates gathered at the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center in National Harbor, MD on November 12, 2018 to attend briefings on legislation, national budget, and advocacy issues. The event included guest speakers such as James Carroll, Acting Director of the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy, and Robert Morrison, Executive Director of the National Association of State Alcohol and Drug Abuse Directors (NASADAD).

Attendees received up to date information on the state of the addiction workforce, the implications of the mid-term elections, and the SUPPORT for Patients and Communities Act, as well as a robust training on effective advocacy for meetings on Capitol Hill. A feature event at the conference was the Advocate of the Year Award luncheon. NAADAC Executive Director Cynthia Moreno Tuohy, BSW, NCAC II, CDC III, SAP, presented the 2018 Advocate of the Year Award to recipient David Marlon for his continued dedication the advancement of the addiction profession and for his commitment to bringing the critical issues of addiction to the attention of those in governance.

On November 13, 2018, attendees gathered on Capitol Hill and conducted over two dozen meetings with Members of Congress and their legislative representatives. Advocates thanked the legislators for their work on the SUPPORT for Patients and Communities Act and brought attention to the issues that are still of concern to addiction professionals and those in the country affected by substance use disorder.

After the successful meetings on the Hill, NAADAC Executive Director Moreno Tuohy, presented 2018 Legislator of the Year awards to Congresswoman Katherine Clark (5th District of Massachusetts) and Congressman Hal Rogers (5th District of Kentucky) for their demonstrated commitment to addiction professionals and the individuals they serve.

"The NAADAC Advocacy in Action conference brought new energy to the addiction profession,” said NAADAC President Diane Sevening, EdD, LAC, MAC. “Participants had the opportunity to meet and network with federal administrators, bill writers, lobbyists, and legislators. This conference spiked interest from new entities to learn more about advocacy."

NAADAC would like to thank our impressive lineup of featured speakers, Diane Sevening, Cynthia Moreno Tuohy, James Carroll, Robert Morrison, Tim Casey, Julie Shroyer, David Marlon, Eric Bailly, Kymberly Cox, Sherri Layton, and Michael Kemp.

NAADAC would also like to thank our Sponsor, Seabrook, for its support.

Media Contact
Kristin Hamilton
703.741.7686 x 131

NAADAC, the Association for Addiction Professionals, represents the professional interests of more than 100,000 addiction counselors, educators and other addiction-focused healthcare professionals in the United States, Canada, and abroad. NAADAC's members are addiction counselors, educators, and other addiction-focused health care professionals, who specialize in addiction prevention, treatment, recovery support, and education. An important part of the healthcare continuum, NAADAC members, and its 47 state affiliates work to create healthier individuals, families and communities through prevention, intervention, quality treatment and recovery support.
Posted by Caitlin Corbett at 12:12 PM
Share |