NAADAC Announces New Executive Committee

NAADAC is proud to announce that the recently elected additions to the NAADAC Executive Committee have taken office.

Every two years, NAADAC members have the opportunity to select officers who will determine the direction of the Association and represent their geographical regions on the NAADAC Executive Committee. All NAADAC members are eligible and encouraged to vote for the candidates within their region. All 2020-2022 terms began on October 18, 2020.

Traditionally, the new members of the Executive Committee are introduced at the NAADAC Annual Conference. This year's Annual Conference took place virtually, and the new NAADAC President, Mita Johnson, EdD, LPC, MAC, SAP, CTHP II, was introduced during the live Closing Ceremony. During this ceremony, Diane Sevening, EdD, LAC, MAC, our new Immediate Past President, spoke about her time as President and helped NAADAC Executive Director Cynthia Moreno Tuohy, BSW, NCAC II, CDC III, SAP, welcome our new President into her new role.

On Sunday, October 18, 2020, the remaining new members of the Executive Committee were welcomed by NAADAC leadership at the virtual Annual Board of Directors meeting. In this meeting, NAADAC leadership discussed NAADAC membership, certification, continuing education, and the future of NAADAC. This day also served as the official inauguration day of the new members of the Executive Committee.

NAADAC is honored to welcome the following individuals into their new or returning roles within the NAADAC Executive Committee:

President: Mita Johnson, EdD, LPC, MAC, SAP, CTHP II

President-Elect: Angela E. Maxwell, PhD, CPS

Immediate Past President: Diane Sevening, EdD, LAC, MAC

Secretary: Susan Coyer, MA, AADC-S, MAC, CCJP, SAP

Treasurer: Jerry A. Jenkins, MEd, LADAC, MAC

Mid-Atlantic Regional Vice President: Ron Pritchard, CSAC, CAS, NCAC II

Mid-South Regional Vice President: John Cates, MA, LCDC

Northeast Regional Vice President: Christopher J. Taylor, MAC, CASAC, DBA, LMHC

Northwest Regional Vice President: Sharon "Shari" B. Rigg, LAC

In addition, we welcome back the following returning NAADAC Executive Committee members:

Mid-Central Regional Vice President: Gisela Berger, PhD, MAC, LPC, NCC

Northcentral Regional Vice President: James "JJ" Johnson, Jr., BS, LADC, ICS

Southeast Regional Vice President: Marvin M. Sandifer, LCSW, LCAS

Southwest Regional Vice President: Thomas P. Gorham, LMFT, CADC II

NCC AP Chair: James "Kansas" Cafferty, LMFT, NCAAC, MAC

To learn more about the NAADAC Executive Committee members, please visit

Media Contact
Kristin Hamilton
703.741.7686 x 131

NAADAC, the Association for Addiction Professionals, represents the professional interests of more than 100,000 addiction counselors, educators and other addiction-focused healthcare professionals in the United States, Canada, and abroad. NAADAC’s members are addiction counselors, educators, and other addiction-focused health care professionals, who specialize in addiction prevention, treatment, recovery support, and education. An important part of the healthcare continuum, NAADAC members, and its 47 state affiliates work to create healthier individuals, families and communities through prevention, intervention, quality treatment and recovery support.

Share |