NAADAC Announces 2016 Award Winners

For Immediate Release

ALEXANDRIA, VA – As part of its National Addiction Professionals Day celebration, NAADAC honors its 2016 Award Winners. This year NAADAC will present awards to four outstanding individuals for their extraordinary service and contributions to the addiction profession and to one outstanding organization for its strong commitment to the addiction professional and to individual addiction professionals.

These dedicated addiction professionals and organization will be honored during the President’s Awards Luncheon at the 2016 NAADAC Annual Conference taking place on October 7-11, 2016, in Minneapolis, MN.  The winners will also be celebrated in the Fall Issue of NAADAC’s magazine, Advances in Addiction and Recovery.

Lora Roe Memorial Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselor of the Year: Sandra Farrell, MS, CADC
This award, renamed for Lora Roe in 1988, is presented to a counselor who has made an outstanding contribution to the profession of addiction counseling.

This year’s recipient of the Lora Roe Memorial Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselor of the Year Award, Sandra Farrell, is a motivated, confident, reliable, and humble individual with over 30 years of addiction counseling experience in a variety of counseling modalities. She specializes in substance use disorder recovery, mental health issues, and couples therapy. She has worked with individuals, agencies, prisons, boot camps, couples, families, groups, and long and short term rehabilitation programs. She has also maintained a NAADAC membership for 22 years.

Mel Schulstad Professional of the Year: James Joyner, LICDCCS
This award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding and sustained contributions to the advancement of the addiction counseling profession.

James Joyner, the recipient of the Mel Schulstad Professional of the Year Award, has been an exemplary addiction professional over the course of his 45 year career.  He was an instrumental voice in the fight against legalization of marijuana in the State of Ohio and is the Founder and Director of Joyner and Associates LLC, which provides intervention, consultation, education, and counseling services for parents and others who are concerned about a loved one’s use of alcohol or other drugs. He believes that through effective education, prevention, and low risk lifestyle choices, these problems can be arrested, and has dedicated his professional life to this belief.

Medical Professional of the Year: Phyllis Prekopa, PsyD, BSN, CARN-AP, LCADC
This award is presented to a medical professional who has made an outstanding contribution to the addiction profession.

Dr. Phyllis Prekopa, recipient of the Medical Professional of the Year Award, is a highly intelligent and compassionate professional with a depth of understanding, empathy, and willingness to help those in the throes of addiction. Prekopa has co-owned Drugcheck Consulting, a specialized drug testing company, since 2001. She has been working with impaired nurses for over ten years, during which time she also served as facilitator to several peer support groups through the Recovery and Monitoring Program (RAMP). Despite an already impressive resume and busy schedule, Prekopa earned her Doctorate in Addictions Studies when she was 70 years old.

William F. “Bill” Callahan Award: Donald “Frank” Davis
This award recognizes sustained and meritorious service at the national level to the profession of addiction counseling.

Donald “Frank” Davis, this year’s winner of the William F. “Bill” Callahan Award, has had a significant impact on advancing the professional credential.  His work with the Texas Certification Board of Addiction Professionals is extensive and he has worked tirelessly advocating on behalf of counselors in the halls of Texas government and with the Texas Department of State Health Services. Currently, Davis works as an Administrative Director for the Gateway Foundation, Inc., and as a counselor at Memorial Hermann Prevention and Recovery Center. Davis is known to his peers as being committed to the profession and a champion for treatment and recovery.

Organizational Achievement Award: Sierra Tucson
This award recognizes an organization that has demonstrated a strong commitment to the addiction profession and particularly strong support for the individual addiction professional.

NAADAC recognizes Sierra Tucson as its 2016 Organizational Achievement Award winner for its high level of care, support, and dedication to its staff members and the addiction professionals in the behavioral health field.  Sierra Tucson has not only demonstrated a strong commitment to the addiction profession over the years, but continues to innovate programs and communication methods to keep professionals engaged and informed of their clients’ progress as they continue through residential treatment.  For more than 32 years, Sierra Tucson’s longstanding legacy of clinical excellence and compassionate care has resulted in recovery for those struggling with substance use disorder, trauma-related issues, eating disorders, chronic pain, and mood anxiety disorders. 

William L. White Scholarship Winners: Kelsey Hennig (undergraduate); Jacqlyn Stein (graduate)
This scholarship is designed to promote student addiction studies research and develop the importance of student research projects. The award is presented to one graduate and one undergraduate NAADAC Student Member with the best student addiction research paper on the assigned topic in that year. This year’s topic was “Recovery Oriented Systems of Care: How Research is Changing the Addiction Profession.”

Kelsey Hennig will be starting her senior year at the University of South Dakota, where she majors in Addiction Studies and Psychology, in the Fall of 2016. She serves as the Vice President of the Coalition of Addiction Students and Professional Pursuing Advocacy (CASPPA), and has been part of research teams conducting research on how personality and mental health conditions are related to substance use concerns and regarding the cognitive, emotional and developmental impact of family substance use disorder and addiction on children. After graduation, Hennig plans to begin working towards obtaining a Master’s degree in Mental Health Counseling as well as her LAC credential.

Jacqlyn Stein is working toward obtaining her Master’s degree in Addiction Counseling from Grand Canyon University and her certification as a recovery life coach. She spent over 20 years in the legal field before starting down the path to become an addiction professional and plans to use her legal background to engage in advocacy for those in need of support. After completing her degree, Stein plans on working with individuals with substance use disorders, as well as their family members.  She feels very strongly that addiction is a family disease and the family members need treatment as much as their loved one. 

Media Contact
Kristin Hamilton
703.741.7686 x 131

NAADAC, the Association for Addiction Professionals, represents the professional interests of more than 85,000 addiction counselors, educators and other addiction-focused healthcare professionals in the United States, Canada, and abroad. NAADAC’s members are addiction counselors, educators, and other addiction-focused health care professionals, who specialize in addiction prevention, treatment, recovery support, and education. An important part of the healthcare continuum, NAADAC members, and its 47 state affiliates work to create healthier individuals, families and communities through prevention, intervention, quality treatment and recovery support.
Posted by Jessica Gleason at 9:12 AM
Share |