The Addiction Educator of the Year Award is presented to the educator who has made an outstanding contribution to addiction education. Any NAADAC member in good standing may nominate an individual for this award, which is selected by the NAADAC Awards Committee. Current members of the NAADAC Executive Committee are ineligible for this award.

Eligibility Requirements

To receive this award, the nominee must be an adjunct or full time college/university professor who has contributed through academia to the addiction profession through the mentoring of students/student chapters, colleagues, or addiction professionals, AND/OR by providing ongoing research or other contributions that grow, enhance, advocate, and educate for the addiction profession.

Download Award Nomination Form
Nomination Requirememts

To nominate an addiction professional for this award, please submit:

  1. a letter of recommendation;
  2. at least three letters of support from three different sources (individuals, organizations or agencies); and
  3. a completed Award Nomination Form.

Submissions may be sent by email to, by fax to the NAADAC Awards Committee (ATTN: Kristin Hamilton, Director of Communications) at 703.741.7698, or by mail to: 

NAADAC, the Association for Addiction Professionals
ATTN: Awards Committee Chair
44 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 301
Alexandria, VA 22314

Deadline: All award nominations much be received by May 31st for consideration. 

Please note NAADAC does not pay for travel to the NAADAC Annual Conference venue for acceptance of the award at the President's Awards Luncheon.  If the award winner cannot attend the event, the award will be sent to the recipient.


For additional information, please contact Kristin Hamilton at or 703.741.7686 x131.

Past Award Recipients

2018 Donald P. Osborn, PhD, LCAC, LMHC, LMFT, LCSW (Nobelsville, IN)
2017 John Massella, EdD, LPC, NCC, CCS, CAADC dip (Venetia, PA)