This year, four outstanding individuals received a 2022 NAADAC Award. Each year, these awards are conferred at the NAADAC Annual Conference. We are thrilled to honor these deserving award recipients in person this year.

NAADAC is proud to celebrate and honor the following individuals for their extraordinary service and contributions to the addiction profession.

The following individuals have been awarded a 2022 NAADAC Award:

NAADAC would also like to congratulate the Graduate winner of the 2022 William White Scholarship, Brittany H. Lazur, MPH.

NAADAC 50th Anniversary Legend Award:

H. Westley Clark, MD, JD

The NAADAC 50th Anniversary Legend Award recognizes a leader and innovator in the field of addiction who has made significant contributions to NAADAC and to the addiction profession.

The recipient of the NAADAC 50th Anniversary Legend Award is H. Westley Clark, MD, JD. Clark has been a positive force in advancing addiction treatment at the national and federal government levels for more than five decades. Clark is currently the Dean's Executive Professor of Public Health at Santa Clara University where he has been an exemplary leader for over three decades, providing support to people with addictive disorders. Clark served on the Executive Leadership Team as the Director of the Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT). He is the longest serving Director of CSAT in the history of SAMHSA and made a profound impact on Federal Policies and Programs during that period. Clark is well known and respected for his deep knowledge of the addictions field and always exhibiting the highest levels of integrity in the conduct of his professional and personal life.

Mel Shulstad Professional of the Year:

John Gordon, LADC, MAC, M-CASAC

The Mel Shulstad Professional of the Year Award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding and sustained contributions to the advancement of the addiction counseling profession.

The recipient of this year’s Mel Schulstad Professional of the Year Award is John Gordon, LADC, MAC, M-CASAC. Gordan has worked in the addiction profession in New York City for over 25 years. He is well known for his relationship-building, mentorship, collaborative leadership approach, and contributions to the New York State OASAS Addiction Competency measures, CASAC training institute, and Tobacco Cessation Programs. As a renowned National Clinical Trainer and Professor, Gordan has trained new and seasoned counselors on evidence-based practices in every level of care and in a variety of healthcare sectors. Gordan is currently the Managing Director of Community, Recovery, and Prevention Services for the Educational Alliance, Center for Recovery and Wellness, where he has established a training institute to continue his passion for developing and inspiring the next generation of recovery coaches and addiction professionals.


Lora Roe Memorial Addiction Counselor of the Year:

Helena Washington, MEd, LCDC, ICADC, MAC

The Lora Roe Memorial Addiction Counselor of the Year Award, renamed for Lora Roe in 1988, is presented to a counselor who has made an outstanding contribution to the profession of addiction counseling.

This year’s Lora Roe Memorial Addiction Counselor of the Year Award goes to Helena Washington, MEd, LCDC, ICADC, MAC. She has over 25 years of experience working with children, adolescents, adults, and family systems. She is passionate about taking a holistic and collaborative approach to mental wellness, as well as educating communities, organizations, and corporations. Currently, she runs a private practice and behavioral health consulting firm in Houston, Texas and is the President of the Texas Association of Addiction Professionals (TAAP) Houston Chapter. A goal of hers has always been to help diversify the workforce and support NAADAC’s impact on diversity, equity, and inclusion. Washington volunteers her time to collaborate clinically with organizations, educate them on addiction, and assist them with resources. She is not only a counselor with experience clinically supervising, training, and managing countless addiction professionals – but a leader, too.


Addiction Educator of the Year:

Frederick Dombrowski, PhD, LMHC, CASAC, MAC, NCC, CCMHC, LPC, LADC

The Addiction Educator of the Year Award is presented to the educator who has made an outstanding contribution to addiction education.

Frederick Dombrowski, PhD, LMHC, CASAC, MAC, NCC, CCMHC, LPC, LADC, is this year’s recipient of the Addiction Educator of the Year Award. He is deserving of this award for many reasons, including his work to establish a track for undergraduate students to become Certified Addictions Counselors (CAC) through the Connecticut Certification Board (CCB). He also mentors and supports graduate counseling students in their pursuit to become Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselors (LADC). Dombrowski works to infuse co-occurring treatment considerations in both his graduate and undergraduate counseling courses. He is tireless in his efforts to include students in webinars and conferences related to addiction education. He even recently coordinated a national substance use advocacy event through Living Undeterred, which was hosted on the campus of the University of Bridgeport in July 2022.


2022 William White scholarship recipient (graduate level):

Brittany H. Lazur, MPH

The William White Scholarship was created to promote student addiction studies research and develop the importance of student research projects in NASAC accredited programs, NAADAC approved programs in higher education, or an accredited addiction studies higher education program acknowledged by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) that provides research or education to the addiction profession.

This year's Graduate winner of the 2023 William White Scholarship, Brittany H. Lazur, MPH. Lazur is in her third year of the Health Systems & Policy PhD program at Oregon Health & Science University – Portland State University School of Public Health. Lazur has a strong background in evidence synthesis and policy analysis which underpins her interest in seeking to translate empirical evidence into real-world policy application. She has a particular interest in substance use disorder research and treatment options and has applied a variety of lenses in exploring this area in the program including dissemination and implementation science, population health, and health and social inequalities.

Winners from Past Years